What to Wear: By the Pool

I’m dreaming of a long and hot summer. Can you tell? I’m dreaming of lazy holidays by the pool, cocktails in the evenings and fresh, tasty food in a seafront restaurant somewhere.

Truth be told, I’m not getting any of that. I’m in Amsterdam at the moment, for 2 and a half days, and this will be my holiday for the foreseeable future (my big “now-I’m-26-I-have-big-plans” plans are expensive). But a girl can still dream.

One of the most dreaded things I have when I do go on a hot, beach holiday, is that first day by the pool. You’re pasty white – probably still hanging on to a bit of a belly because the diet didn’t quite work out – and you have no idea what to expect from fellow sun worshippers (are they a friendly sort, keep themselves to themselves, or are you going to get stuck next to the rugby team on tour?)

Pool, Bikini, Figleaves, Accessorize, New Look, Topshop, What to Wear, Holiday, Fashion, StyleWhich is why I always choose an outfit that makes me feel special. Try this amazing Santa Maria bikini from Figleaves (£36.80 for the set) and channel some 60s glam. I’ve teamed it with a kaftan and floppy hat from Accessorize and these incredible Irregular Choice sandals from New Look (if you want some plainer shoes, try the New Look navy woven strap cork wedges, £12). Cateye sunglasses finish off the 60s look, but any sunglasses will look good with this bikini!

The white tote from New Look is the perfect size – enough to fit your suncream and your books in with ease!

Happy sunbathing.

1. Santa Maria non padded underwired halter bikini top, Figleaves, £28 £22.40
2. Santa Maria fold bikini brief, Figleaves, £18 £14.40
3. Floppy hat, Accessorize, £15
4. Basic cotton kaftan, Accessorize, £20
5. Drop lense cateye sunglasses, Topshop, £16
6. White cut out oversize tote bag, New Look, £34.99 £17
7. Irregular Choice Ariel’s Treasure Bow strappy sandals, New Look, £69.99 £35

This entry was published on 07/25/2013 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under What to Wear and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

