A Birthday Meal

Today I'm Wearing, H&M, Dress, Style, Birthday, Office, Shoes, OOTDSo it was my birthday yesterday, as we’ve established. And as every Thursday night is steak night at our local pub (The Phoenix Inn, it’s spectacular), I decided that I’d give in from my diet and go nuts for a meal out with the family.

H&M, Dress, Fashion, Office, Shoes, Today I'm Wearing, OOTD, Birthday, Style, River IslandIt might be the local pub, but it’s a bit of a tradition to “dress up” for family meals out (I’m not talking cocktail dresses here, but certainly more than a pair of skinny jeans), so I chose my favourite H&M piece in my wardrobe – this khaki dress (now down to £17 from £24.99) and a pair of shoes I haven’t worn in years from Office (“Latin Lover”, £80, no longer available anywhere).

River Island, Clutch, Fashion, Today I'm Wearing, OOTD, Style, Fashion

Team that with a black clutch from River Island and a gold circle necklace from Dorothy Perkins (both, again, a few seasons old and unavailable) and I was all set!* Make up I kept very simple and went with black flicks over my eyes and plenty of foundation to make my skin smooth and flawless (a blend of Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse in Sand and Mac Studio Fix Fluid in NW15 makes the perfect blend for my temperamental skin and gives great coverage without caking).

Goat's cheese, Fig, Honey, Walnut, Salad, Food, The Phoenix Inn

Warm goat’s cheese, fig, honey and walnut salad, The Phoenix Inn

Dinner was delicious – helped down by a G&T. For starters was a warm goat’s cheese, fig, honey and walnut salad (without crouton) and then for mains it was, of course, sirloin steak with homemade chips and a grilled portobello mushroom. The Phoenix locally sources all its food, and the two chefs are genius. The portions are generous – there was definitely no room for pudding – but you don’t feel like you’re filling up on junk. This is hearty, good food, in good company.

As it was the day before my birthday, there was no fuss made (thank goodness), so it was all about family and food – as it should be. Today is my mum’s birthday – so check in on Twitter for a day out to the Hawk Conservancy and more Phoenix grub!

Necklace, Food, Steak, Fashion, Style, Shoes, Office, Dorothy Perkins, OOTD, Today I'M Wearing, Style

*I think the ring pictured is from New Look, but it was gifted from a friend so I can never be sure.

This entry was published on 07/20/2013 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Today I'm Wearing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

