From the Foundations

I won’t leave the house without a healthy dose of foundation smeared on. It covers up any sins, and leaves a smooth, matte finish. But what are the best ones out there? I’ve put together some of my tried-and-tested foundations (and why they work!)

Lancôme, MAC Cosmetics, No7, Boots, Foundation, Maybelline, Clinique1. Dream Matte Mousse foundation, Maybelline, £7.69 from Boots
This is a fantastic every day foundation – light and not too greasy, with enough coverage that you don’t need concealer or powder

2. No7 Protect and Perfect foundation, Boots, £16.50
No7’s Protect and Perfect collection is ideal for keeping skin young – specially formulated with the latest anti-aging technology to firm and freshen. This foundation goes on smooth and stays all day, and helps to keep your face looking youthful.

3. Anti-blemish solutions liquid makeup, Clinique, £23 for 30ml from Boots
I discovered this after it was recommended in an article all about the best foundations. I suffer from bad skin, and wearing foundation every day definitely doesn’t help, so a spot-fighting foundation sounded perfect! It’s a fantastic foundation – not too heavy, blends perfectly, although I have to admit I didn’t notice much change in my skin. But for coverage and lightness, this is definitely one of the best.

4. Studio Fix Fluid foundation, MAC, £20.50
I’m addicted to this stuff – really. A flawless finish, amazing coverage, and a great match for my skin. What’s more to love!?

5. Teint Miracle foundation, Lancôme, £27.50
Lancôme claims that this foundation will “recreate and boost the skin’s luminosity”. In 18 shades, and with SPF15 to boot, this is a fantastic foundation for tired skin. Lightening and brightening, as it promises, this hides bags under the eyes and tired skin to create a fresh-faced look.

What are your favourite foundations?

This entry was published on 06/19/2013 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Shop the Trend and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “From the Foundations

  1. Abi on said:

    Because of work, I find my make up wears down and I’m conscious of looking tired at the end of my shift. Do you know any decent foundations etc that are long lasting or any tips on how I can keep the look as best as possible in an active job? I know it won’t be perfect but better than it is now would be great! I’m rubbish with make up!

    • Almost more important than foundation is primer! Make sure your face is clean and you have a good base to put your foundation on (Clinique, No7 and Benefit all offer good primers). I would also recommend a mineral foundation as they tend to sit much better on the skin, and a light powder to finish. It sounds a lot, but there are lots of light primers/foundations/powders that are gentle to skin (particularly if you choose a mineral foundation) that won’t make it too hard on your face. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

